The iTunes App Store will let you re-download an application that you’ve already purchased. What it does not do, is let you see in advance whether you’re going to be charged for it. If you make a mistake, you’ll end up purchasing an app that you thought you were downloading for free!
Hope that saves you some money! Thanks to Jmalley on the Whirlpool.net.au forums for this great trick!